Giveaway and Interview: Tellulah Darling

Giveaway and Interview: Tellulah Darling

Okay, so I am super excited about today’s interview and giveaway post! I read author Tellulah Darling’s Blooming Goddess Trilogy a few months ago and fell in love with it so I asked her for and interview. Color me surprised when she not only agreed to the interview but offered to let me giveaway a boxed set of all three books in the trilogy! You will find the interview and a link to the giveaway page below. The boxed set comes out April 30th. You can also check out my reviews of all three books here. Enjoy! 😀

Blooming Goddess Trilogy

The Complete Blooming Goddess Trilogy by Tellulah Darling

Genres: Fantasy, Mythology, Romance, Young Adult
Published by Te Da Media
Publication Date: April 30th 2015
Pages: 1080
Buy the book: Amazon

Goodreads

Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Meg Cabot, Rachel Hawkins, and everyone who loves their kickass girls sassy and their infuriating gods swoony.

The Persephone myth gets a YA romantic comedy makeover when Sophie Bloom, slacker girl extraordinaire, receives amidnight kiss from a bad boy and discovers that she’s actually Persephone, Goddess of Spring. Somehow she’s got to save humanity in the war between Hades and Zeus, survive God-ordered assassination attempts, deal with mean girls and teen drama, and stop being kissed by the aforementioned bad boy, a.k.a. Kai, Prince of the Underworld.

Compared to Kai and Sophie, Romeo & Juliet had it easy. 

The Complete Blooming Goddess Trilogy contains: My Ex From Hell (#1), My Date From Hell (#2), A Date of Godlike Proporitions (short story #2.5), and My Life From Hell (#3) and is available exclusively for Kindle.

Line divider (pink)

Interview with Tellulah Darling

First I want to thank you for stopping by my blog today! I wanted to interview you because the Blooming Goddess Trilogy is a favorite of mine. It is hilarious and has the best kind of romance!

Thank you so much! I’m very happy to be here. 🙂

 

  1. In one sentence, How would you describe each of the main characters in the Blooming Goddess series?

 

(A) Sophie, the main character:

Sophie is a smart ass who’s always felt like a misfit and tried to stay under the radar, but when her goddess powers are awakened, realizes that high school drama pales in comparison to the more complicated struggle both internally and externally that she now faces.

 

(B) Kai, Sophie’s leading man:

The bad boy prince of darkness with massive daddy issues, and a complicated mix of anger and attraction to this human girl purporting to have his dead goddess girlfriend’s powers.

 

(C) Hannah, Sophie’s best gal pal:

An adrenaline junkie with a big heart and courage to burn, Hannah is that bestie who will always be there for you but isn’t afraid to speak her mind, especially when it comes to Kai.

 

(D) Theo, Sophie’s best guy friend:

Smarty pants nerd with absolute loyalty to Sophie and a hidden agenda as the god Prometheus.

 

  1. If you had to pick your favorite character from the series, who is not on the list above, who would it be and why?

 

Festos (who is introduced in book 2 My Date From Hell) without a doubt. He’s a smart, talented god (Hephaestus) whose snark is in direct proportion to the heart he wears on his sleeve. A hopeless romantic and more than a challenge for a certain god he’s in love with.

 

  1. Which book in the series was the most challenging to write and why?

 

I’d say they each had their own challenges. Each was built around a specific theme, playing off the idea of “blooming”. Book one, My Ex From Hell, dealt thematically with the idea of “emerge.” Here’s this girlfractious waiting to get on with her life, and suddenly, with the discovery that she is the Goddess of Spring and key to humanity’s survival, there can be no more waiting. Life has just very gotten real. And then on the romantic comedy front, her romance with Kai is emerging. So I had to make sure I wasn’t info dumping my set up to this world, these characters, and their backstory emotional baggage.

 

Book two, My Date From Hell, moves Sophie’s journey along to the idea of “grow.” Sophie grows in terms of her abilities and her sense of self. And for the romance? See how the titles move from My Ex From Hell to My Date From Hell? Progress/growth for Sophie and Kai as well. The specific challenge here was to keep their relationship deepening because, let’s face, it, Kai was a bit of a jerk in book one. Also, I wanted a clear goal in terms of the battle for this book as well, because middle books that feel like they’re biding their time until the final book and the final battle drive me nuts. (Which is why I bow before the genius of J.K. Rowling and her 7 books!)

 

The final book in the trilogy is called My Life From Hell. This, thematically, is the “bloom” stage. Sophie finally, and in all ways, will come into her fabulous self. “But Tellulah,” you protest, “you’ve taken the relationship element out of the title.” I don’t know about any of you, but when I was teenager, my idea of love was all-consuming. Overwhelming. A girl could get lost in that vision. And maybe, just maybe, that’s going to be part of Sophie’s journey as well. Learning that romantic love is only one (albeit important) part of life. So my challenge here was to both keep from being preachy while resolving both the overarching war of the gods and Sophie’s love life in a satisfying way.

 

  1. The romance between Sophie and Kai is a favorite of mine, how would you describe them to someone who hasn’t read the Blooming Goddess Trilogy?

Fractious – the ultimate love/hate dynamic.

 

  1. What type of research did you do in preparation for writing the Blooming Goddess Trilogy?  

 

Tons of Greek mythology, obviously, but also I read a lot of Jungian psychoanalysis and adolescent psychology since this is a journey of self-awareness for Sophie. I also interviewed tattoo artists, went through old photos and travel diaries about Greece and spent way too much time researching treehouses.

 

  1. Do you have any interesting writing quirks?

 

Hmmm, not so much in terms of when or where I write but I do become obsessive with voice. Once I feel I know my story and am ready to start writing, I will rewrite and rewrite those opening chapters until I feel I know my character’s voices inside and out.

 

 

  1. what do you like to do when you aren’t writing?

 

Read. I’m always reading. But that’s a given, isn’t it? 😛 I’m a TV junkie – not reality shows, only scripted, love to tap dance, and throw dinner parties.

 

  1. Do you have any upcoming projects you can share with us?

 

Yes! I have a new series coming out this year. It’s a new adult romantic comedy, set in a world of magic. Each of the 4 books contains one couple whose romance is wrapped up in that book, with the backdrop of an ongoing fantasy adventure overall. I’ll be dropping teasers and cover reveals on my site www.tellulahdarling.com in the next couple months. I’m really proud of this book and very excited to share it with the world!

 

I like to end an interview with a short game. I will start the sentence, and you end it however you like!

 

(a) I never leave the house without… lipstick.

 

(b) Someday I will learn how to… properly use Photoshop.

 

(c) I have always wanted to travel… to Thailand and Egypt.

 

(e) I always smile when… my husband gives me our secret code that he loves me.

 

(f) The world would be a better place if… racist, sexist, homophobic people would stop pouring hate into it.

 

Thank you so much for having me. These were great questions!

Line divider (pink)

Blooming Goddess Trilogy Giveaway

Enter for a chance to win ONE e-book collection of the entire Blooming Goddess Trilogy by Tellulah Darling! (Open internationally)

Click the link below and it will take you to the giveaway page!

click here (red)

Line divider (pink)

Tellulah Darling’s Books:

Click on the cover’s to to that book’s Goodreads page.

MyExfromHelltheBloomingGoddessTrilogyBookOnebyTellulahDarlingMyDateFromHellTheBloomingGoddessTrilogyBookTwobyTellulahDarlingA DateMy Life coverSam Cruz's

Line divider (pink)

Tellulah Darling’s Biography

About Tellulah Darling

Tellulah Darling
noun

Sassy girls. Swoony boys. What could go wrong?

1. YA romantic comedy author because her first kiss sucked and she's compensating.
2. Alter ego of former screenwriter.
3. Sassy minx.

Writes about: where love meets comedy. Awkwardness ensues.

Tellulah Darling is a firm believer that some of the best stories happen when love meets comedy. Which is why she has so much fun writing YA romantic comedy books. Her books span contemporary, teen fantasy romance, and YA Greek mythology, and range from stand alones to series. For Tellulah, teen romance is the most passionate, intense, and awkward there is – a comedy goldmine. Plus smart, mouthy, teen girls rock.

Line divider (pink)

This event was brought to you by:

 

Kookie Krysp Reads
Sharing is caring!

2 thoughts on “Giveaway and Interview: Tellulah Darling

  1. I had such fun with this interview and I very much enjoyed this series! Not entering the giveaway as I’ve read all of the books. Thanks so much for this fun post and good luck on the tour!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *